Running my Sweet Sixteen the day before Halloween

So this marathon training is starting to get real. Up until my birthday and the half-marathon that I ran the day-of, I had really just been in my typical training mode.

IMG_4762.JPG

But October has seen two long runs in excess of the half-marathon distance. The first was 14 miles with Kelly. My camera didn’t save our selfie, but I did capture the delicious donuts I bought for us. I ate one right before & after, because I have the running stomach of a champ!

IMG_4965.JPG

The second was today, my first 16-miler. Sadly, I was solo. Happily, the weather was phenomenal and other than getting tired by the end, I had no pain or other mishaps. It was definitely more of a mental game than anything. Three hours is a long time to convince your body to do anything as taxing as running, even if said running is slow.

IMG_5199.JPG

In other tangentially running-related news, I carved a pumpkin earlier this week. While mine wasn’t the most elaborate (congrats Cathy), it did have the desired effect: a bit of “pumpkinspiration” to get through the coming weeks!

IMG_5170.JPG

IMG_5194.JPG

Continuing to wind back the clock, last weekend I received a long-awaited visit from my BFF Jess! She came to cheer me on at a Halloween 10k, and was a real trooper as I dragged her out the door when it was still quite dark. Luckily she is a fellow runner, so she gets it!

IMG_5018.JPG

IMG_5107.JPG

And after the run, we embraced our inner children with a trip to the pumpkin patch, complete with hay-bale ride, corn maze, and jumping!

IMG_5055.JPG

IMG_5122.JPG

IMG_5040.JPG

Needless to say, it was an amazing weekend. A real run-cation!

But not EVERYTHING in my life is about running. Just a few weeks ago, I celebrated my beautiful friend Regan’s upcoming wedding at her shower.

IMG_4968.JPG

IMG_4975.JPG

The theme was Disney Fairytale, and I won one of the games by tying with another bridesmaid for most number of correct Disney songs matched to their movie. It was a delicious, delightful day!

And it came right on the heels of another fun week-long even: visits from familia de el James (pardon my Spanglish). His mother came to stay with us for about a week, during which time we dined elegantly and visited some local attractions, including my beloved giraffes!

IMG_4776.JPG

IMG_4816.JPG

IMG_4858.JPG

We also overlapped a weekend visit from his brother and sister-in-law. It was so nice to meet them, host them in our guest rooms, and even work out with them!

IMG_4884.JPG

IMG_4860.JPG

IMG_4913.JPG

I’d say that about sums up my month. Oh yeah, and intermingled amongst all of that have been 2 tests, clinicals, a paper, and lots of other reading and assignments for my 15 credits of insanity. It’s nice to know I am capable of all this, but that doesn’t make it easy. I think I will probably look back on a lot of this as a blur, which is why I am trying to savor what I can.

Leave a Reply

