Fun Part Two

So Thursday we started out taking things slow, did morning workouts and then got ready for a bonus hike! Just a place right around here with a few hills and nice views. Rooms was unamused at the idea of taking a sweaty selfie, but she humored me.

20140307-212652.jpg

20140307-212659.jpg

I decided I needed a posed picture with a cactus because how could I leave AZ without one?

20140307-212706.jpg

Then we proceeded to spend the rest of the afternoon hanging out by the pool/hot tub. It was actually a cool day, so we eventually ended up back indoors and watched some movies.

In the evening, we met up with Roomie’s friend Emily from work and had a delicious dinner at Pita Jungle. We ended up almost closing the place down because we were having such a good conversation.

And then Friday morning, I still managed to drag my butt out of bed in time to run before the sun got too brutal. Today’s challenge was 12 miles, my last long run before the half next weekend.

Before (barely awake):

20140307-213210.jpg

During (4 of the 8 total balloons I saw out at once):

20140307-213338.jpg

After:

20140307-213400.jpg

Wow, I was sure happy to be done. And also quite proud of myself because I did it in 02:03:54. That’s 10:20/mile … for twelve of them! It’s leaps and bounds faster than my first half (12:36/mi), and actually gives me hope I could pull off this one in 02:15:00-02:20:00. That would just thrill me to death 🙂

For the rest of Friday, we did a little shopping and eating, hanging around and packing my stuff. After quite a busy week, it was nice to actually have some true down time. Tonight I fly back home on the red eye, and with time zone changes and DST starting this weekend, my body clock is going to be all kinds of messed up.

It’s been a nice week out here with Rooms. I finally got to see a glimpse into her life out here. I really enjoyed all the adventures we had. And I felt quite lucky to trade my snowy, cold home for balmy Phoenix for a week. Now back to the real world…

Leave a Reply

