The Joy of Running

Part 1:

I think this may be a recurring type of post where I focus specifically on running and how it makes me feel.

Yesterday was a particularly poignant example of my delight in running. I wanted to start the day with a run but the weather wouldn’t cooperate so I did yoga instead. Then I carried on with the rest of my day (lunch with Molly and random errands), having met my workout quota.

20140107-071453.jpg

However, by the time I got home, the rain had turned to blue skies and I was just itching to hit the road! So I headed out on a fairly simple out-and-back route of 5 miles. If I were not able to self-moderate I swear I could have doubled that.

It felt so good to be out there, moving trancelike through the world. The best moment was that when I hit my turn-around mark, I faced the wind and was rewarded with a wonderful breeze that had the combined effect of reducing my perspiration and energizing my spirit.

20140107-071857.jpg

It’s like, no matter what else is going on in life, as long as I can get out for a run, I can take it in stride (pun intended). Running has become my passion and my driving force. As it propels me through the world it also bolsters my spirit. I feel so lucky that I can do this and also that I have found something that fulfills me on so many levels. Now that I love running, I always will.

Leave a Reply

