Productivity Plop

I was gonna get so much homework done tonight!  It really almost happened.  So close I could taste it.  But here’s what happened instead, and why I am about ready to go to bed any second…

My nursing school cohort had our orientation to Mental Health Clinical at the facility where we will be working.  It was a full day of powerpoints, safety briefs, and sharing our feelings.  We got a brief respite for lunch, but then it was right back in the closed quarters with our peers and instructors.  I was joking all day that there’s a reason they hadn’t given us keys yet…it felt like they were going to keep us there permanently!  The most interesting part of the day came when we simulated the condition of having auditory hallucinations (aka hearing voices).  We listened to audio of some pretty creepy voices while attempting to read an article and answer questions about it.  I had one of the strongest reactions out of everyone who shared their feelings, because I felt really hopeless and oppressed with all of those voices in my ears.  I felt like I wanted to crawl into a corner and hide.  I managed to ‘function’ in that I read and comprehended the article, but I felt horrible while doing it. 

So I left that experience feeling really drained.  I took a quick trip to the grocery store, but forgot (once again!) to go by the hardware store to get the right parts to affix my TP hanger to the wall. And by that time I was STARVING so I ate some delicious Chicken Tikka Masala for dinner.  Then I headed to the dog park because it was a beautiful day, but no one else was there (womp womp).  I had just enough time to fit in a run before an 8pm virtual meeting.  Did I mention that in addition to my regular RN coursework, I am also working on my BSN through an online program?  I may or may not be sane by the end of this. 

I got in a 4-mile run in the twilight (jamming to my favorite Disney tunes and sliding in at just under 11:30/mi) and made it to the meeting just in time.  Luckily it didn’t last the full hour like I was expecting…more like 10 minutes.  So I had all this time on my hands… And what did I end up doing?  A few odds and ends, getting quite distracted, but unable to focus on anything.  Can you blame me?  It’s been a long-ass day and I don’t technically have anything due until tomorrow evening. 

But let me just jump back to yesterday (Wednesday) before I crash.  Got an early start to finish up my reading for class before going to yoga at Lara’s.  It was a really great practice, and I came closer to achieving plow pose than I ever have before, which is exciting to me because there was definitely a time when I thought I’d never be able to do it.  However, the downside of this practice was that I had to rush back home afterwards, and I barely had time to grab a shower and lunch before class started.  I thought I had plenty of time, and I was almost late to class. 

Our first Mental Health Nursing class was pretty great!  Our instructor is full of wisdom, and seems to convey information in a way that is easy to understand and also interesting.  It was really nice to change courses mid-semester.  And after the Thursday orientation, I am feeling even better about it.  This course is going to be a lot of hard work, but I feel like I am really going to learn a lot in the process.

Tomorrow I’ve got yoga, a doctor’s appointment, and dinner with my friend Stacy.  I also need to make banana bread, do lots of homework, and get organized for the next 5 weeks.

Leave a Reply

