The Big 10!

It’s been such an interesting week – full of new things. One of these is the 10 miles I ran this morning! It was definitely not my most efficient run, but that is not surprising. I did go to bed in time, but woke up at 2am because the pain associated with poison ivy rash on my hands and drove to the 24-hour pharmacy to get some new meds. Turns out Benadryl is very helpful at making the rash bearable. I put the Caladryl lotion on it for the run, but when it washed off, I haven’t needed to reapply. Benadryl works to block the histamine production associated with the allergic reaction of the poison oil on my skin. The rash hasn’t cleared up yet, but it is a relief not to need the smelly ointment for now.

So, as a result of all that, I did not really get a good night’s sleep, but I still got out of bed at 5am and out the door by 5:30 to run as planned. It was mid 70s and wicked humid. I also seem to have minorly injured my right knee. It’s sore, but not as a result of anything specific I did – It just happened around mile 7, but I pushed through anyway. Hope that doesn’t come back to bite me, but I do have several days off of running coming up. Tomorrow I am planning to work on chest/triceps with Lara, and this weekend Katrina and I plan to go kayaking.

After running, I hung out with my neighbor’s kid at the pool – we played baseball with noodles and a beach ball, among other things. My leg did feel a bit better after that, but now it’s sore again.

I also hung out with the neighbors last night. I came over bring them some watermelon (buying one is always way too much for just me) and they invited me to stay for dinner (burgers/onions with fresh fruit and veggies). It was nice, because I didn’t have my own plan for dinner. I ended up also bringing over 2 pieces of lasagne and coming back to play monopoly. It was a fun evening!

I’m not sure exactly what’s happening tonight. I’m going to try to fit in a visit to the dog park around my other plans. Everything is largely weather-dependent. But I’m sure it will be fun either way 🙂

Leave a Reply

