Thermal Oasis in the Sea of Summer

I don’t know about the rest of you, fellow citizens of the world, but I prefer outside temperatures within a fairly narrow range.  I am happiest when the outside temperature is between 55-75F.  Any colder and a slight breeze can make things uncomfortable, and any warmer and the humidity of the southern US can make things stifling.  I’ve always thought that humans are poorly adapted to tolerating changes in temperature.  We bundle up in the winter and sweat bullets in the summer.  But that’s life, and there’s not much you can do about it.  And that’s why it’s so nice when things swing your way, temperature-wise.

I’ve been rolling out the old bike a lot more recently.  I’ve been biking to the store, to see nearby friends, and even down to the farmer’s market!  Well, one thing I have discovered is that there is a special ‘bike zone’ that you achieve when it comes to temperature.  It may be a blisteringly hot day, but as soon as I get up some speed on my bike, the heat just seems to melt away!  Now, I know this is wind, and I could achieve a similar effect by just putting down the windows on my car.  Of course, the big difference is that my bike lives indoors, and so I don’t have to deal with the hot handlebars (analogous to hot steering wheel of car).  By biking, I also miss out on that oppressive level of heat unique to cars that have been sitting in the sun in summer.  Even with AC, the first few moments of getting into a car on a hot day are miserable.  With a bike, I only have a few seconds of heat before I get up enough speed for the ‘bike zone.’  And this is just a subjective measure, but I think it feels about 15-20 degrees cooler on my bike.

My other example of a thermal oasis is just today in general.  A pretty intense storm blew through here yesterday, knocking down tree limbs and causing some minor power outages.  But following the storm, a wonderful cold front has bathed us in an unseasonably cool day!  It started out today below 60F and stayed under 70 until almost noon.  High of 80!  In June!  In ‘the South’!  And so far I have squeezed every ounce out of this delightful day.  I was on the road for a run by 7:15 am (which isn’t early for most people, but is quite early for me).  Then, I spent the rest of the morning and early afternoon with a friend of mine at a nearby amusement park.  I’m inside now, but in another couple hours I’ll be taking the mutt to the dog park.  It’s been a beautiful day!

More good things:
– I’m doing really well in my anatomy & physiology class.  I’m having to work really hard, but it’s paying off!
– I received a second-round interview for a job that I’m really excited about!
– My classes end in just 2.5 more weeks!  And then I have traveling plans in August.
– I’ve got some fun things planned for the next week, like happy hour, a local baseball game, and some pool time 🙂

Leave a Reply

