Together we’re apart / It’s tearing up my heart

Those lyrics hail from possibly the greatest song in the history of music: Male Prima Donna by Subtle Sexuality.  If you don’t know it, I suggest you look it up right now.  But more importantly, they represent a shared memory between my dear Little and me.  Four years ago, she came into my life with a bang and things haven’t stopped being interesting since!  She has given me some of my best moments (the surprise lawn birthday party during my senior year) and has been there for me during my worst (the trip home for my mom’s funeral).  I love her with all my heart, and though we are very different, we are perfect for each other.

I just spent several hours with her packing up her stuff to go home.  The last several hours that I will get to spend with her in who knows how long.  It’s always sad to see friends leave, and I’ve gotten somewhat accustomed to the feeling.  But this is different.  My Little is a part of my life and my heart in a way that no one else is.  She’s kind, thoughtful, and funny; she’s beautiful, quirky, and supersmart.  She just got her Master’s and is on the way to being the best teacher ever!  Basically, my Little is the greatest thing since sliced bread, and I don’t know what I’m going to do without her!

In past years, I’ve always known just when I would see her again.  And in a way, my coming home early from AmeriCorps gave me a lot of time with her that I didn’t count on having.  So I really shouldn’t complain.  But because we’ve gotten even closer in the past year and a half, it’s that much harder to be without her.  In the words of RENT: “I can’t believe you’re going / I can’t believe this family must die.” 

I know we’ll stay friends, because it’s ridiculously important to me that we do.  But I’m sure going to miss having her right here.  I hope she knows how much I love her and miss her already.

Leave a Reply

