The One Where I Met Randall Munroe

Dear Readers,

If you don’t follow the XKCD web comic closely enough to know the name of its creator, then that title probably meant nothing to you.  If you do know that XKCD was created by Randall Munroe, at 2006 CNU grad, then you didn’t need me to tell you that.  But I just wanted to cover my bases so that this next part makes sense.

Last night, Mr. Munroe gave a talk at his Alma Mater, and I was lucky enough to be in attendance, accompanied by my lovely friend Jen!  We started off the evening with dinner at Cheddar’s, and then we were most unfortunately late arriving to the event.  Quite fortunately, the talk didn’t begin until about 2 minutes after our (late) arrival, so our timing was accidentally perfect.  The talk was scheduled to last for 20-30 minutes, to be followed by some audience questions and a meet & greet.  Much to my surprise (in the best possible way), Randall talked for almost an hour an a half, then took some questions and still did a short meet & greet.

His talk was absolutely hilarious.  As is evident from his comics on XKCD.com, he has a great sense of humor.  His topics ranged from some pranks he played at CNU to his wife’s current struggle with breast cancer to the playpen ball saga, inspired by this comic.  I was practically rolling in the aisles during the funny bits, and I was fascinated by his perspective on the serious portions.  In essence, Randall Munroe is the kind of person I wish were my best friend.  And so, I enjoyed his talk immensely.

Following the talk, Jen and I were lucky to fall into the meet & greet line early, and so we successfully met the man of the hour and each got his signature.  I didn’t know what to say, so after I gushed for a second about XKCD, I told him that I’m a geologist.  And then he responded enthusiastically by recommending “T. Rex and the Crater of Doom” which I intend to read!  I also told him how much I enjoy his geology comics…even the ones that poke fun at the field. 

And then, as if the evening couldn’t get better, Jen and I returned to her apartment where I got to catch up with the lovely Sarah, who had come by to pick up her cat (long story).  So we hung out and chatted in a New-Years’-Eve-esque fashion, until it came time for us to call it a night.  I loved the chance to see both friends, because I don’t get to nearly as often as I’d like!

Leave a Reply

