Spring Cleaning

In honor of a visit from my dearest college roomie, I’ve spent my week of spring break cleaning house!  Have to make sure everything is perfect for her visit.  I had to convert the spare room back to a guest room (it had become something of an attic following the vacation of my fall roommate), take down the last few Christmas decorations (don’t judge me), and clean/vacuum (which I only do for special occasions).  I’m not the best housekeeper in the world, but I do know how to put the pedal to the metal when necessary.

All was going according to plan (except the upstairs, which is less than satisfactory), and then the plumber arrived.  I’ve been noticing the effects of a leak in my kitchen, and while I ignored them for awhile, the wetness that had gone under the island to carpet in the dining room was TOO MUCH to ignore.  So I FINALLY got a plumber to come take a look, and he found two unrelated bad things.  First, there was a constant drip leak at the dishwasher connector.  He couldn’t fix it and had to turn the water off in the mean time.  But the water damage is bad enough that I need to have my insurance company look over it for a potential claim.  Also, the disposal and drain on the opposite sink both need to be replaced.  It’s bad enough that if I run the water on high while doing dishes in the sink (because the dishwasher is out of commission), it overflows and leaks into the cabinet under the sink.  Ugh.

I can’t deal with this all right now, so the kitchen is basically a DO NOT ENTER zone until I can get it looked at and fixed.  Oh the joys of owning a home.

Leave a Reply

