Add a little Sparkle

There are just some things in my life that it would be a shame to do without.  More importantly, there are some people that make my life better, just by being there.  And I generally make it a point to spend as much time with those people as possible, so that my life is as awesome as it can be.

Those are people like my Little, who is very busy, but always makes time to hang out with me.  And we always have a ton of fun when we’re together.  This afternoon, we got pedicures at a new nail salon that we both really loved, and then we had extra time to grab a quick dinner at Panera.  Because I don’t get to see her as often as I like, I always treasure the time we have together.

I don’t know what I’d do without Carlie, whose husband and children I also adore.  She and I have managed to get together on a weekly basis for at least the past year, though if I remember correctly, it started the summer after I graduated.  Whether we go out, or hang out at one of our homes, we always have a great time.  She’s the tiniest bit older and wiser than I am, so I often turn to her for advice on life’s little problems.

Even though we haven’t lived together in almost two years, I will always call Lydia V my “Roomie.”  We had our ups and downs through college, mostly because we lived together in the drama-central sorority house, but we really reconnected after graduation.  She and I have been doing our weekly phone calls for the past year, and I can honestly say that was one of the best decisions ever for our friendship.  Even though we are far apart, I still feel like she’s a very important part of my life.  We talk for hours about literally everything under the sun.

And I couldn’t write this without mentioning my ever-faithful running buddy, Lydia H.  We started running last January to train for a 5k, and we have kept it up ever since!  Okay, that’s not exactly true, because we have had the worst luck getting our schedules and overall health to line up.  However, I wouldn’t get to the gym nearly as often without her, and I always have a better time when we’re there together.  We also get together with our friends Evelyn and Melissa about once a month, and those outings are always a blast!

It’s so nice that I can count on my routine of fun events and people to make my life a little more sparkly.  Just like the blue nail polish on my toes, and the 596/600 points in my biology course right now, sometimes the little things make the biggest difference in overall happiness.

Leave a Reply

