Bright New Beginnings

This is the beginning of a post about the beginning of a new life for myself an many of my favorite people, both literally and figuratively.

My friends Carlie, David and their son Henry have a new addition to their family.  Baby Benjamin was born yesterday afternoon, 20 inches long, weighing in at 6lbs 15oz.  Against the odds, he was born on his actual due date!  The proud parents were so happy and relieved to have a complication-free birth.

I spent the day babysitting Henry while they were at the hospital.  After Henry’s nap, we joined the rest of his family at the hospital, and he got to meet his baby brother for the first time.  All during the pregnancy, they’ve been asking Henry to point out where Benjamin is, in his mommy’s belly.  When we went to the hospital, and they asked “Where’s Benjamin,” Henry answered, “Right there!  Baby got out!”  I think it really blows 2-year-old-Henry’s mind that Benjamin is no longer in mommy’s belly.

I’ll be with Henry today, and the parents are planning to be home from the hospital before dinner.  I was thrilled to be able to help them take care of Henry during this exciting time, and it couldn’t have been timed better for me.  This is the last free weekend I have before my classes start Monday.  Well, I mean my weekends will still be free…  But I was worried Ben would be born when I was busy with classes or something else, and I couldn’t come help.

This semester, I’ll be taking Biology and Psychology, both intro level courses that I never took at my four year college.  I’m only going part time at first because I feel like I need to ease myself back into the routine of taking classes.  I’m pretty excited about this new chapter in my life.

Leave a Reply

