2011 Firsts

In the grand tradition of, well, last year, I thought I’d write a list of monumental things that happened to me in 2011.  Of course, the most shocking and sad thing that happened this year was the loss of my mother at a tragically young age – 61.  Her memory will forever be a part of my life and the person I am and will become.  Though it’s obviously not applicable as a “first” line item to celebrate, it has permeated my whole year.  I honestly feel very vulnerable talking about it, but I can’t talk about my life over this past year without referencing my loss.

– First Dog Park trip to the Outer Banks
– First visit to Ocracoke Island, the Hatteras Lighthouse, and the Wright Brothers’ Museum
– First time in an outdoor hot tub in January (Cathy, Carlie)
– First Presbyterian Church service in my town
– First time joining a church choir (this decade)
– First time joining a community gym, and running regularly (Lydia)

– First time flowers have been sent to me from all the way across the country
– First time I have been so helpless that I relied completely on my friends and family
– First visit to Spain, spent time in Barcelona and Zaragoza (Kevin)
– First time eating “calamares en su tinta” (squid cooked in its own ink)
– First time seeing the work of Picasso and Gaudí in person

– First time planning a memorial service, with a great deal of help
– First time meeting my aunt’s fiancé, Dennis
– First trip to IKEA
– First time managing 100% of my own finances – it’s been quite a journey
– First time going Easter Egg hunting with my toddler friend Henry

– First time celebrating my Grandfather’s 90th birthday
– First traditional Passover dinner with Carlie and David
– First 5k race – benefiting the Susan G. Komen Foundation (Lydia, Gabby, Katrina)
– First church choir concert

– First visit to Water Country (Cathy)
– First time visiting the Ashland Farmer’s Market with my friend Trevor
– First 4-mile race, weekend trip to North Carolina (Chelsea, Kate)
– First time staying at the LG in California, for NCCC Class 17 graduation
– First trip to Santa Cruz (NCCC TL Fam)
– First NKE Wedding – JoBeth and Jason (Chelsea, Jen, Lyds)

– Second Maroon 5 concert, but still worth mentioning (Cathy)
– First roommate at my house (Megan)
– First time joining the local Phi Mu Alumnae Chapter (Regan, Chrystal)

– First MLB game – Phillies vs. Nats with Alyssa
– First time visiting historical sites in downtown Philadelphia (Alyssa)
– First SYTYCD tour (Lydia, Katelyn, Rhea)
– First time volunteering with the NPS, this decade!
– First time volunteering at a Stop Hunger Now event
– First visit to Lynne and Dennis in Florida
– First trip to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter
– First W&M Homecoming
– Second 5k race, third race in 2011 (Mel)

– First W&M Geology 50th Reunion
– First Ugly Christmas Sweater party in Baltimore, mini NCCC reunion
– First time using a sewing machine

This has been an interesting year…  I haven’t really pushed forward as much as I’ve been catching up.  But in 2012, I’ll be starting classes, exploring my healthcare career options, and getting my household organized.

Now, it’s time to take down Christmas decorations and plan my last “free” week before the next chapter begins!  Cheers to a great new year!

Leave a Reply

