Wacky Weekend

After starting out Friday kind of bummed out, the day took an upward swing when I started decorating cupcakes.  My friend’s son Henry turned two this week, and his party was Saturday.  Since he loves Curious George, that was the theme of the party decorations, as well as my cupcakes!  I made George faces, peeled bananas, and balloons on both vanilla and chocolate cakes.  It was a bit complicated, involving about 7 different frosting colors, but because it’s something I enjoy doing, I didn’t mind putting in the time and effort to do it!

I was working on cupcakes most of the afternoon, but before I finished them all, I had another fun event planned!  Stacy, Cathy, Brian and I participated on a Progressive house viewing.  Stacy had never seen either of our houses, and I hadn’t seen hers, and Cathy/Brian hadn’t seen my house since I redecorated.  So, this called for a mega food/viewing party.  We started out at Stacy’s current rental, and then went to her newly built house, where she’ll be moving next month.  She served us delicious mini-quiches.  Then we drove to my house, which was (amazingly) cleaner than it has been in months.  I served cucumber sandwiches and carrots.  Finally, we ended up at Cathy/Brian’s house, where we took a tour and then ate dessert.  It was so much fun!

The next day started out with Henry’s party at a lovely pavilion at the park.  There were balloons, bubbles, and party food!  The kids and adults alike loved the bubbles, and the cupcakes were a big hit.  Lots of dog park friends were in attendance, as well as Henry’s play group friends.  After the party wrapped up, Stacy and I went on an epic errand adventure.

We started out at the library, where Stacy got a card, and I got some DVDs.  Then, we headed to CarMax to get my car appraised.  I was THRILLED when I received their offer for my vehicle – it was MUCH higher than I expected, and that’s always good news!  Then we picked up my pottery pieces from the studio, and visited Costco.  My membership expires in October, and I’m probably not going to renew it.  While there, I checked out prices on some bigger TVs.  I’m quite tired of my 20 inch screen, and I’m thinking of getting a 40 inch, as well as a BluRay player, now that I know they can also play DVDs!  It was a successful trip, to say the least.

We popped back to both our homes to walk our dogs.  Then we ate dinner at Stacy’s favorite Mexican restaurant (where I hadn’t been before).  We ended the day with a quick trip to Target.  It was so great to have someone to run my errands with me, and she got a lot out of it, too!

Today I went to church with Courtney, had lunch at home, and will be heading to the gym and the dog park later in the day!  I also have to clean out my car, which is a pain, but SO WORTH IT for the reward I get after I sell it tomorrow.  Until next time…

Tags: ,

One response to “Wacky Weekend”

  1. magnoliahugger says :

    Glad to see a happy post, although I know it doesn’t necessarily mean that things are better deep down. It does sound like you’re doing a good job of appreciating happiness on a day-to-day basis, which I think is a good way to go. It could be that you just need a bit of time before things become clearer. Even if it takes a year or more, things will work out (says the person who’s younger than you and hasn’t been through what you have. Take my advice as you will).

    P.S. Hooray for Henry’s birthday! And mini-quiches, om nom nom…

Leave a Reply

