Reality vs. Reality TV

This week, I’ve gotten a little more caught up in Reality TV that I like to admit.  I’ve watched at least a season and a half of Say Yes to the Dress, quite a few episodes of Cupcake Girls, and my usual The Voice (finale!) and So You Think You Can Dance.  I’ve gotten REALLY into the voting, and thanks to me, Javier Colon is The Voice!  This is what I’ve been doing when I’ve been hanging out with my friend’s dogs (I’m dog sitting).

I’ve also had quite a busy week in real life!  Tuesday was movie night with Chelsea and Molly, Wednesday was Roomie phone call (special birthday edition), Thursday was Lydia’s early birthday outing, yesterday was a visit to Kristi, and today was dinner and a movie with Regan and Kelly.  I also dropped by to say hi to Marty.

And tomorrow I’m venturing on a mini-vaca!  I’m joined by two sorority sisters to attend a wedding party and then to run a 4-mile race!   We’re all pretty excited.  It was one of those plans that magically all came together, and now the day has arrived!  I don’t feel as prepared as I could be for the run.  I wanted to do a 4-mile practice run this week, but other things got in the way.  I ended up running less this week than I usually do, but at least I’ll be nice and rested for the race day.

I guess where I was originally going with this entry is that this week as been a little surreal.  It hasn’t really been any busier than usual, or any less busy.  However, a big part of my focus during my “me” time has been on reality TV, which has drawn me even more into my own little world.  I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or not, but it is what it is.

The other thing I did today was make a lot of progress on cleaning out my mom’s old office.  The long-term goal for that room is a scrapbooking/game/puzzle/workout room.  That sounds like a lot, I know.  However, I’m hoping it will end up having just the corner desk and maybe a small end table – and no other furniture.  Right now it’s got the desk, an air hockey table that I NEVER use, two filing cabinets, and a metal “office” cabinet.  I was going to clean it out entirely, but I think that moving the desk is more trouble than it’s worth AND it would require me to disassemble the desktop computer.  Besides, I can make good use of that for scrapbooking.  It’s going to be a lovely room when I get it cleaned out.  The vast majority of what’s in there now is paper, much of which I have to shred.

I’m just looking forward to the day when I have everything in this house “under control.”  I will have achieved that when I no longer have to dig out of closets and entire rooms, and when I have an established filing system.  I want to trim all the excess stuff from my life.  And honestly, one of the most inspiring things to do when cleaning is to watch “Hoarding: Buried Alive.”  It’s motivating to know that your messy house is never THAT bad, but to be concerned about how bad it could be if left unattended.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment