Recovery

I’ve taken the week off from running to recover from a pain in my lower right leg (I think it’s shin splints).  It’s gotten slightly better over the past several days, but it’s still not 100% yet.  I think I need to start incorporating more of a stretch/leg exercise routine every day.  But if I’m up to it, I’m going to start again at the beginning of next week.

I’ve had a very interesting and contemplative week.  I’ve been in contact with a number of friends, and have come to some realizations.  There are some people in my life who I’m not as close to anymore.  In some cases, that’s something I want to fix, but in other cases, I’m okay with it.  Friendship isn’t something you can force – it either comes naturally or it doesn’t work.  Real friendship is about give and take, and when it’s NOT working, it’s not really worth fighting for.  Friendship should be mutually beneficial, in my opinion, not mutually destructive.  So, I’m going to start taking careful note of those friendships of mine that are healthy, those that are sick, and those that are recovering.

Because, you see, most people don’t realize that I am still struggling to figure out a lot of stuff and am still in an emotional turmoil.  I manage pretty well overall, and I’ve found a lot to be happy about, but there are daily struggles that I keep to myself.  Friends that know me well have reached out to me, but others just ignore me.  What I need is support, and what I don’t need is any more stress in my life.

Leave a Reply

