Roller Coaster

So after that really positive and motivated entry yesterday, I had a little breakdown. I tried to get my cable bills resolved by calling the company, but because the accounts were in my mom’s name, they wouldn’t talk to me. So I tried to go to the retail location, but due to traffic, I didn’t make it before 5pm. I was literally 6 minutes late, but they were completely closed; I may or may not have had a minor panic attack, which is completely ridiculous and unreasonable. But I think it was a long time coming, considering how well I’ve been holding it together. So I called a girlfriend, and called my aunt, and felt a lot better.

After going to the park and choir practice, I took it easy and went to sleep earlier than usual. Then I got up and went to the cable company first thing in the morning. It was a very successful trip. I got my account switched from my mom’s name to mine, which resulted in two very positive things. I reduced my overall service cost by $90 per month, and added BBC America to my lineup! This is particularly important to me because I am a HUGE Doctor Who fan, and this change is happening just in time for the Series 6 premier on Saturday night!

After that successful trip, I went to the bank, the post office, a breakfast meeting, Staples, and the gas station. Amazing how productive I can be sometimes. And after just a few steps, my internet and new channels were all set up as they should be. It’s also amazing how much the folks at the cable company can do remotely, if you, the user, can simply manage to get everything plugged in properly.

So, after a quiet afternoon, I went to the gym, got more Gatorade at the store (they only have G2 at the one I don’t usually frequent, so I have to make a special trip), came back, and got ready for the rest of the day. I had an early dinner (because I had a late breakfast, and skipped lunch), watched Carlie and Henry eat dinner, went to the dog park, and then spent the rest of the evening at their house playing Wii (mostly).

Now it’s Friday morning. I got up early to go running. Original plan was to run outdoors, but I really didn’t feel up to it, so I went to the gym instead. Lydia and I have discussed this, and I agree: running on the treadmill is low-impact relative to running outdoors. So I ran 2 miles at the gym, which makes my 5th consecutive day of running this week. I’m reevaluating my plan to run 3 weeks straight. I think I might fatigue myself so much that I’m not able to run my 5k on May 7. So I’m going to take the weekend off to recover, and start again on Monday. Here’s how it will go.

18 Monday – run outside
19 Tuesday – run at gym
20 Wednesday – run outside
21 Thursday – run at gym
22 Friday – run at gym
23 Saturday – off
24 Sunday – off
25 Monday – run at gym
26 Tuesday – run outside (5k)
27 Wednesday – run
28 Thursday – run at gym
29 Friday – run outside (5k)
30 Saturday – run at gym
01 Sunday – off
02 Monday – run outside (6k)
03 Tuesday – run at gym
04 Wednesday – run outside (6k)
05 Thursday – run at gym
06 Friday – off
06 Saturday – RUN THE 5K WITH LYDIA

Now I’m off to spend the day at Busch Gardens, where I will ride a literal roller coaster. But this week … has been a metaphorical one.

Tags: , ,

One response to “Roller Coaster”

  1. magnoliahugger says :

    Chiming in a little late here, but first of all, I love you. Second, you definitely did the right thing by calling people and talking it out. The panic attack wasn’t ridiculous or unreasonable, no matter how you may feel about it, so don’t worry about that.

    Also, I’m so incredibly proud of you for making a running schedule and sticking to it! I would love to be that motivated. You are going to do an AWESOME job!!

    Little Little

Leave a Reply

