Goals and Opportunities

Four months ago, I had a plan to start running three days a week in preparation for a 5k in May. Here’s how it’s going so far.

I started running at the gym with a great friend. I ran regularly until I left to spend two weeks in Spain. I resumed running upon my return and ran regularly until about a week in March when I got terribly sick. Even still, I started back with my running sooner than I probably should have given that I wasn’t fully recovered. And since then, I have been running regularly and starting to really notice that I’m getting better. If not faster, at least I have much more endurance than I had when I started.

It’s about two weeks from my 5k and I don’t want to stop. This very fact alone amazes me. I am not someone who EVER ran, or even worked out very often. AmeriCorps NCCC got me started – I’ve said that before. But I’m still amazed that I’ve been able to stick with this commitment.

I have a new personal challenge in store. I’ve run for the past 3 days in a row, and I’ve decided to challenge myself to run every day from now til my 5k race. I’m doing this for a couple of reasons. First, even though I’ve been committing to run regularly for 30 minute workouts, I’m not confident that I can run the 5k distance with as much success. My distance for the 30 minute workouts is usually between 3-4k. So I’m going to be running every day, but at least 3 days this week I’m going to run 5k (as long as it takes) and NEXT week, I’m going to run three 6ks. I think I can. I think I can. I KNOW I can.

But the other reason I’ve decided to do this is that I’ve been researching the P90X program. To complete this program, you must work out for about an hour a day for 90 days straight. It looks like a pretty intense program, and I’m not sure I’ll be able to keep up, but I think I can commit to doing it. These three weeks of daily running are my way of convincing myself that I’m up for it. I’m pretty excited about the prospect of accomplishing this 5k goal and then moving on to P90X.

Ideally, that would run from mid-May through mid-August. I would run another 5k, perhaps in October. Then I would do another P90X in the winter. And follow that up with a 10k next spring. That’s my 12-month fitness plan.

Maybe it’s a little too ambitious, but it’s become increasingly important to me to be in shape. This first running program was a slow, but necessary start. But I’m ready to kick it into high gear. I’ve never committed to something for this long before, so I think this is a good sign of a change in my attitude, and most importantly, my habits. I have the opportunity to take a real personal stride here. Even if I aim too high, then I’ll still be achieving greatness.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

