27 Thoughts and Responses

This advice is not from me. I saw it on StumbleUpon. But I liked it enough to include it here, and add my thoughts. Enjoy!

1. The first pancake always turns out badly.

It takes time and practice in any situation to get things just right. It’s good practice to plan for the “first pancake” in any new project.

2. You don’t have to get along with everyone, or make everyone like you.

It impossible to make everyone like you, because we are different people and we’re not all going to get along. I’ve driven myself crazy in the past trying to get along with everyone, and it’s not worth it.

3. Love makes you stupid.

When I’m tied up in emotion, I tend to make reckless decisions. I do things that aren’t always the best for me. But it’s a great feeling, when it’s right, and it’s worth the risk.

4. You always have at least 2 choices, even if you don’t like your choices.

Sometimes I feel like there is no other option but one. It’s times like those when I know I just need to stop closing myself off from the many other possibilities.

5. Sometimes even women need to learn to MTFU.

Often I find it difficult to say what I mean, because I can’t find the right words or it’s a tough topic. It takes courage to be honest.

6. Most people operate out of selfish motivations.

It’s almost impossible NOT to be selfish, because it’s part of our survival instinct. When you are finally able to accept this fact about others, it explains their behaviors and can help put you at peace with their decisions.

7. It’s rarely about you.

Think about it. How many times do you get lost in your own head, and accidentally (or intentionally) take it out on others? Now switch it around, and don’t take it as personally when others treat you poorly on occasion.

8. Soda is evil.

That’s true. There’s nothing good about it… it’s bad for your health and especially your teeth. I’ve been slowly cutting it out of my life. Just tonight, I brought water to a movie rather than wasting $ on soda.

9. It’s okay to break the rules, as long as you are good enough not to get caught, and you aren’t hurting anyone.

I have a tough time with this in general, but I do see how it applies to speed limits, pool hours, and watching TV shows online.

10. “Be kinder than necessary ’cause everyone you meet is fighting some kind of battle.”

I understand this much better after all I’ve gone through the past few months. Plus, being kinder than necessary is just nice to do, because it does you no harm and is good for others.

11. There’s three sides to every story- his, hers, and the truth.

Life and perspective are both quite complicated. If the other person is never right, then you are equally as wrong.

12. Time doesn’t heal anything- it’s what you do with that time.

I’ve felt this most strongly in some friendships I’ve let fade over the years. However, I will say that time is only a dagger if you acknowledge it. I’ve been able to resurrect friendships even if much time has passed.

13. Complaining and blaming other people doesn’t help anything, and makes you miserable company.

This just goes along with 14.

14. Everything in your life is your responsibility.

Blaming other people is the last thing that will help you, because it’s not their fault and makes them feel bad. And even if it’s not your friend that you’re blaming, it makes you look silly and weak to blame anyone but yourself.

15. You train people how to treat you.

I haven’t totally come to terms with this one… Or maybe it’s that I don’t understand how to do it. But really, I’m leaning towards disagreeing entirely and saying that “You have to realize you have no control of how others treat you, you only have control over your reaction.”

16. There’s always hope.

I agree wholeheartedly. But it’s important to remember during dark times.

17. You can always be grateful for something.

I am grateful for so many things, each and every day. Friends, family, a roof over my head, and a really cute puppy, to name a few.

18. If you aren’t making mistakes, you aren’t trying hard enough.

It may be convenient to play it safe, but you can never get anywhere by avoiding all risks.

19. You never really become an adult. You just get more responsibility, and become wiser.

I like this one. I’ve gotten so much more responsibilities lately, but I still don’t feel “grown up.” I don’t know how much wiser I feel, but my mom did always say that I was wise beyond my years.

20. Showing emotion is not a sign of weakness. Knowing when it is appropriate is a skill.

This one is so deep. It guess, to me, it means that it’s okay to be who you are, you just need to be conscious of others and how your actions make them feel. Sometimes, it’s tough to strike a balance.

21. Google can answer anything.

Google is everything these days. I use it multiple times every day. I don’t know what I’d do without it.

22. Being silly is one of my favorite qualities in a person.

Yes, I definitely agree. It means you’re easygoing and not afraid of embarrassing yourself a bit. Silly people make me smile and laugh, and it’s so much fun to be around them.

23. Honesty is always the easiest route. Even if it’s not in the short term.

Hiding how you feel about something can eat you up inside. Even if it’s something small. Hiding what you’ve done is almost impossible, given the transparency of our lives these days. Better to be up front and answer for the truth, because it will come out eventually.

24. You should never stop learning, or trying to be a better person.

There’s so much out there to learn, and there are so many ways to live a better life! This quest for goodness is the driving force of life, in my opinion.

25. Worrying is useless, unless it motivates you to take action.

No, worrying is just useless. You can contemplate, weigh your options, and plan; those lead to action. Worrying paralyzes you and keeps you from following your dreams.

26. When people show you who they are, believe them.

But who really knows who they are? I know I don’t. I have passed the point in my life when I could describe myself in a few words and phrases. I guess this just advises to be open and receptive to others. I know, deep down, all I want in life is to be loved and understood. I imagine many other people feel the same.

27. There is only fear, and love. And one of them is way more fun.

I guess when you boil it all down, that is really what you have left. Fear is the opposite of love. I believe when you truly love, you have no fear. Because if you are truly loved and able to love, that’s all you need. But is it ever possible to live a life where there is nothing but love?

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

