Carried Away

Hello dear friends – only a few hours left until my big trip to visit Kevin in Spain! I can hardly contain my excitement. As I write, I am almost packed, and almost ready. It’s been an absolute roller coaster these past two weeks, and I am absolutely ready to be “carried away” to another world, but I thought I would take a minute to reflect on something that really brings me joy.

I cannot even begin to describe how lucky I am to have so many good friends in my life. Literally everyone that I know has helped me, encouraged, and lifted me up through this tough time. I could not be where I am without the people around who have offered words of encouragement, helpful advice, and favors galore. I am practically in tears as I write this. I just can’t be grateful or thankful enough to repay all of the kindness that has been bestowed on me. If you’re reading this, and you’re in my life, thank you so very much. I am figuratively carried away on the sea of your kindness.

I have been insanely busy since I last wrote a few days ago. On Saturday, I got up early and had more done before 11am than I sometimes get done in a whole day. I baked two batches of cornbread, one batch of heart cookies, activated my global phone, did laundry, cleaned the house, and packed. By noon, I was ready for a quick shopping trip. Who knew there are huge sales on President’s Day weekend; the outlets were packed! But I made it out safely, got ready, and headed out to pick up my NKE Little for the 6th annual geology chili cookoff!

The event was an absolute blast this year! I tried to be fashionably late, but we were the first to arrive. Also, I forgot to write down the directions, but since I’ve been there four times before, I navigated the route by instinct, which is kind of hilarious. There were amazing chilis, cornbread, cupcakes, and dirt pudding. A good time was had by all, and the reigning champion was finally dethroned! Excellent! After I left, I had a productive evening at home continuing to pack, while I chatted for hours with my roomie who currently lives in Arizona. It felt like we were back together in our old room, but it made me miss her!

This morning, I went to church where the music was lovely and the people were even more lovely. Being a part of the choir makes me so happy. Afterwards, my Phi Mu Little and I went out to lunch at a delicious Mexican buffet. Then, we spontaneously ran into Little Little (as we whistled at her from the crosswalk), and she joined me for a pedicure. I made it back in time to meet miss Lydia at the gym, and even got to take the dog to the park one more time before I go. Though I imagine her lovely dogsitters will take her at least a few times while I’m gone. She loves them and their dogs, so I know she’ll have fun while I’m away!

I didn’t mean for this to be such a long entry, and I’m sorry if you’re still reading, but I am just overwhelmed by the desire to document this time in my life. It’s a whole new chapter, and while I am still adjusting and missing my mom terribly, I am just so glad to be where I am with people that I love. When the pastor was talking about one of his previous congregation members who had cancer, I teared up. Life is never going to be the same for me, but then again, life is never the same. Life is change. And change has to be good, for without it, what’s the point of living?

We cherish those we love while we have them, and we honor their memory by holding them in our hearts. I think one thing that will always stick with me that my mom held true was the mantra, “Do good!” Wherever I am in the world, I aspire to be good to those around me, and if I am doing that, that’s all that matters.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

