All curled up as we wrap up the week

Tomorrow will be our last full day in the Outer Banks! It’s difficult to believe this week has gone by so quickly, but it has been quite fun and relaxing all the same!

We took it easy most of Wednesday, but we went out for dinner at Finngans, followed by Bingo at the Cape Hatteras Angler’s Association! It was a lot of fun – half of our group won something, and my godmother won the big jackpot at the end of the night!

On Thursday, we met the second wave of beach-goers on their way down! We stopped to check out the Wright Brothers Memorial. There was a very interesting talk about how the brothers got started, and the exact details of their first flight. I loved it! Afterwards, we all ate at Henry’s restaurant in honor of the youngest member of our group. It was delicious!! Then half the group stayed up to explore, and half went back early. I wasn’t feeling 100%, so I went back early and enjoyed hot tub time with Carlie! That evening we played Taboo with great success! Then more hot tub time with Carlie and Cathy. We were sufficiently cooked.

This morning, we enjoyed round two of waffles as we sent off the first round beach-goers. We took it easy most of the day, exploring and puzzle playing by some, and movie watching. We went out to buy pottery in the late afternoon. I bought a beautiful wall-hanging piece with flowers! Then we finally went to check out the famous Hatteras Lighthouse that we’ve been seeing from our window all week! It is absolutely beautiful, and the tour was fascinating. I could spout out the fun facts, but I won’t, so you should look them up for yourself online! It might surprise you how long it took to move and just how much the National Park Service paid to move it!

Speaking of the NPS, I had a very enlightening conversation with our interpreter about how he got his position and how I might be so lucky myself. I may not have mentioned it here before directly, but working for the NPS has been a dear ambition of mine for some time now. I’m doing everything I can right now to lay the proper groundwork so that dream can become a reality in the very near future.

More hot tub time, beach time, Wii and game time, good eating, and relaxing will fill the next day and a half. As I write this, I am curled up on the couch watching a movie with the group. The air really is clearer down here, and it feels great!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

